Garden Transitions

September 23, 2012 § Leave a comment

With my last two posts about watermelon, I finally feel like I’ve taken full advantage of summer and am ready for all of the incredible produce that comes with fall. To be honest, as much as I love the stone fruits, tomatoes and berries of summer, if we were talking favorite seasons, I’d probably have to go with autumn. There is something so crisp and lovely about the season.

My garden offers a particularly good illustration of seasonal transitions this year. Back in January, when it was time to get my seedlings going, I had surgery. This meant a late start on seedlings. Then, when it was time to transplant my seedlings into the garden in April, I was still on crutches (yes, I was on crutches for over 3 months). So I had to wait until late May! Given how late I was, it is really no surprise that I grew only one successful melon, that my tomatoes didn’t hit their full swing until mid-September, or my zucchini plants have just now stopped producing. I also have yet to see if any of my peppers or eggplants will ripen before the winter cold sets in, and today’s harvest included both a perfectly ripe melon and a deep orange winter squash!

As much as I wish I hadn’t fallen so far behind this year, I learned a lot. I’d never tried growing peppers from seeds before, and I learned just how slow they are to germinate. I learned that in climates with warmer growing seasons – such as mine in the Bay Area – melons seem to be more successfully when seeds are sown directly outside, rather than started indoors. And I also learned never – and I mean never – to neglect my garden for an entire week. When I went to Hawaii this summer, I forgot to ask the neighbors to water, and I came back to withered watermelon vines and dried up cucumber plants. It was so sad!

I count this as a successful season for all of the produce I grew well, and for all the new skills I learned. Next year – assuming I’m not on crutches – I’ll get my seedlings in on time, and hope for ever greater success!! And as much as I hated spending months on crutches, it gave me plenty of time and inspiration to start this blog!

In my garden basket:

  • Boule d’Or Melon
  • Black Cherry Tomato (deep purple-red color)
  • Early Wonder Beet
  • German Lunchbox Tomato  (red, oval shaped heirloom cherry tomato)
  • Kabocha Squash
  • Nasturtium (edible flowers)
  • Parisienne Carrots
  • Purple Russian Tomato (medium sized, purple-red color)
  • Richmond Green Apple Cucumber
  • Rosemary
  • Sungold Tomato (orange cherry tomato)
  • Tappy’s Heritage Tomato (red, globe shaped)
  • Thyme
  • Weissbehaarte Tomato (yellow heirloom)
  • Zucchini
Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Garden Transitions at Seed to Stove.

meta