Watermelon Tomato Salad

September 17, 2012 § Leave a comment

I’m going to brag for just a second. This week, I’ve had in my possession a 25.2 lb watermelon (yes, I weighed it). And it gets better. Not only is the watermelon massive, it is also organic and it cost only $5! For anyone familiar with the Bay Area farmers’ markets, you know what a steal that is! Finally, and most importantly, it is delicious. Like, really, one of the best watermelons I have ever had. Great texture, great sweetness, and perfectly juicy.

The watermelon was also a birthday present to myself. I love farmers’ markets, and this year, not only did my birthday fall on a market day, it fell upon the watermelon sale day! Before finding the watermelon, I had considered doing a birthday cake post, but it seemed a little sad to bake my own cake. So, when I came across this watermelon, my problems were solved – I had my hands full using (and eating) my giant watermelon.

So that is how I came to this super fresh salad. The giant watermelon, as well as the current abundance of cherry tomatoes in my garden. Until two weeks ago, I had almost no ripe tomatoes, and then today I harvested two pints! I promise, I just put them into little market baskets for fun…they were all grown right in my backyard!

I hope you enjoy! Summer isn’t over quite yet!

Watermelon Tomato Salad

Serves 4

Ingredients

  • 4 cups watermelon, seeds removed and cut into 1/2 inch “cubes” (rectangles, triangles, or any other shape will be just fine)
  • 1 pint (2 cups) cherry tomatoes, sliced in half
  • 2 cups arugula
  • 1 small cucumber, sliced into thin, 1/2 inch strips ( I used an Armenian cucumber, but any type will work)
  • 1 tablespoon basil, torn into small pieces
  • 4 ounces (1/2 cup) feta cheese, broken into crumbs
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 3 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 1/2 teaspoon honey
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Start with the dressing. Whisk together the olive oil, lemon juice, honey, salt and pepper. Set aside.

In a large bowl, combine the watermelon, cherry tomatoes and arugula. Add the dressing, and toss gently. Divide among four bowls. Top with feta, cucumber and basil. Serve immediately.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Watermelon Tomato Salad at Seed to Stove.

meta