Mango Tostadas

June 21, 2012 § 1 Comment

If you are anything like me, you may be thinking: mango’s with cheese? Really?

Yes.

I know, you are skeptical. So was I. But I love mangos. I mean, I really love mangos. More than anyone I have ever met. And as a true mango lover, I felt I owed this recipe a chance. I also happened to have an Ataulfo mango sitting around the house.

Let me tell you, I was glad I gave it a shot. So were all of my less mango-fanatic eating companions, which gives this recipe even more credibility. I think every single one of them said the word “delicious” at some point. And really, it is delicious when you combine mangos with jalapeno, arugula and lime.

This dish was a hit. So, keep reading. And then get cooking. You will be glad you did.

Recipe adapted from A Year in a Vegetarian Kitchen

Ingredients

  • 4 tortillas ( I used 8-inch)
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil (1 tablespoon reserved for salad)
  • 2 large red-onions, thinly sliced
  • Salt
  • 1 jalapeño, seeded and finely chopped (or keep a few seeds if you want extra heat)
  • 1 mango (I used Altaulfo, but any type will be delicious), peeled and diced
  • 2 tablespoons cilantro, minced
  • 3 tablespoons freshly squeezed lime juice (1 tablespoon reserved for salad)
  • 1+ cups cheddar cheese
  • 3-4 cups arugula
  • 1 avocado, diced

Preheat the oven to 425º.

Next, slice the onions. Once you are done slicing, heat 2 tablespoons oil in a large pan over medium heat. Add the onions and 1/4 teaspoon salt. Cook, stirring occasionally, until browned, roughly 20 minutes. Keeping an eye on the onions, you can now do the rest of your chopping, mincing and squeezing and grating of the jalapeño, mango, cilatro, lime and cheese.

Once the onions are browned, add the jalapeño and cook for 1 minute. Remove from heat, and add the mango, cilantro and 1-2 tablespoons lime juice (reserve 1 tablespoon for later).

Place the tortillas on a lightly oiled baking sheet. Distribute the onion-mango mixture among the tortillas, spreading it out as evenly as possible. Sprinkle some cheese on top, and bake for 6-8 minutes, or until the tortillas are slightly crisp and the cheese is melted.

With the tostadas in the oven, toss the arugula and avocado with 1 tablespoon olive oil and 1 tablespoon lime juice. Season with salt and pepper.

When the tostadas are crisp, remove from oven, distribute salad on top, and serve!

I enjoyed this recipe so much, I made a breakfast burrito out of the left overs the next morning.  If that sounds like it might hit the spot, just substitute scrambled eggs for the arugula, fold everything together in a slightly warmed tortilla, and start your morning off on the right note.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ One Response to Mango Tostadas

  • Kara says:

    Zo! This looks delish. And your pictures are beautiful!!

    Love your technique for mango-dicing. Simple, but brilliant.

    Can’t wait for the next post 🙂

    K.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Mango Tostadas at Seed to Stove.

meta