Spring Pea Spread

June 19, 2012 § Leave a comment

Wow! This is my first blog post ever. I contemplated whether I should make anything with the word “spread” for my first post, but this recipe is just so delicious, simple and beautiful that I couldn’t resit. Today is also the last official day of Spring, and peas won’t be around for much longer. I figured it was now or never.

I was inspired by a recipe using fava beans, but opted for fresh peas. You can also use garbanzo beans, but then you will end up with something more like hummus (which is not such a bad thing). I love pea season at the farmers market. I especially love when farmers have tables heaping with peas, rather than pre-filled bags. It is just so gratifying to scoop the peas up the handful, and fill my bag as full as I want!

Recipe adapted from Organic Marin: Recipes from Land to Table

Ingredients (these measurements are flexible – add a bit more of one thing, or a little less of another, and you will be just fine!)

1 pound English peas (or fava beans*)

2 cloves garlic

1 table spoon lemon juice

1/2 tablespoon (or more) fresh thyme

1/4 cup (I used a bit less) olive oil

1/2 teaspoon sea salt

1/4 teaspoon freshly ground pepper

* If you decide to go ahead and use fava beans, remember that shelling fava beans is a two step process. First you remove the beans from the pod, and then you remove the inner bean from its shell. This means shelling fava beans will take longer than shelling peas.

First, shell the peas. You should have about 1 pound before shelling, not after. Shelling is the most time consuming part of this recipe, so it is all down hill from here!

Next, mince your garlic and thyme, and squeeze out your lemon juice.

Alright, almost done! Combine the shelled peas, minced garlic, fresh lemon juice, minced thyme, olive oil, salt and pepper in a food processor, and pulse until everything is well combined. Voila!

You can serve the Spring Pea Spread on crackers or fresh bread. If you want to get a little fancy, you can brush a little olive oil on sliced baguette and toast it in the oven at 350°F for 10-12 minutes (or in a toaster oven for about 5 minutes). Or, if you are impatient like me, you can dig right in with a spoon! Did I mention how beautiful this spread is? The bright green color is incredible, and it didn’t fade at all before I polished off the entire bowl.

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Spring Pea Spread at Seed to Stove.

meta